Two Rogers Parkers Named 2020 Cubs Scholars


Two high school students from Rogers Park, including one from Nicholas Senn High School, have been named Cubs Scholars for 2020.

Alyssa Marshall, a student at Senn, and Charles Mitchell, who attends the Latin School of Chicago, were among the eight selected this year.

The Cubs Scholars program, launched in 2013, offers high-potential Chicago students with demonstrated need financial contributions and a team-sponsored mentorship program designed to promote academic achievement and post-secondary educational advancement, according to the Cubs.

Each recipient receives a $20,000 scholarship upon their enrollment in a four-year college or university and participates in a mentoring program with help from Cubs College Prep. The mentoring program helps prepare scholars for the transition from high school to college.

The Cubs College Prep programming and mentoring from Cubs associates helps each scholar continue toward college graduation. Students are recommended for Cubs Scholars by Cubs Charities nonprofit partners.

Other winners this year are Chicago Lawn resident Lizbeth Barajas (Eric Solorio Academy High School);  Roseland resident Yakeena Coleman (Noble Charter-Johnson College Prep); East Garfield Park resident Kymora Dillard (George Westinghouse College Prep); Douglas resident Mya Jackson (Northside College Prep); Dunning resident Brian Lensegrav (William Howard Taft High School); and North Lawndale resident Brianna Townsel (Collins Academy High School).

Among last year’s Cubs Scholars was Senn High School’s Marcos Sandoval, of Edgewater, who will attend Columbia College next year.


Leave a Reply